History - County Chairman

 Pride of The Bride...From Club notes on Avondhu Dec 20th 2014

At the Annual Convention of the Cork County Board of the GAA in Pairc Ui Chaoimh on Sunday, December 14th 2014, Gerard Lane was elected as Chairman. As the first ever Bride Rovers Clubman to hold the highest office in Cork Gaeldom it was a proud and auspicious occasion for Gerard himself and his family and also for our Club and Community. We often hear how important 'the grassroots 'of the GAA are and that the club is the most important unit in our great Association, well Gerard Lane has truly come from the grassroots and has been a brilliant club member for decades. For the last six years he has served as PRO and vice- chairman of the County Board. These officer ships came after a decade at the helm of the East Cork Junior Board as well as years with the Divisional Juvenile Board. Holding all these positions it would be easy for one to forget 'where you came from' - not so with Gerard, he's a Bride Rovers man first and last. As a player and committee member and Board Delegate he has devoted a huge amount of time to promoting the ideals of the Gaelic Athletic Association in his native parish. He has been to the forefront in every phase of club development we have undertaken on and off the playing field. His courtesy and efficiency have been well matched by his determination and ambition.  Cork is the biggest County in Ireland and in GAA terms has the most clubs and teams. This is a time of change and renewal for Cork and a period which presents huge challenges. The redevelopment of Pairc Ui Chaoimh, the continued effort needed at under age level and the task of challenging for Senior All Ireland glory in hurling and football are just some of the issues which Gerard will have to tackle but no doubt with a supportive Executive and membership he will be well up for these and other tasks. 

His predecessors from the Imokilly Division have been;

'Bowler' Walsh, Sarsfields,              1940- 1946.

Paddy O Driscoll, Russell Rovers,  1979-1981.

Denis Conroy, Carrigtwohill,            1988-1990.

Christy Cooney, Youghal,                1994- 1996.

Jerry O Sullivan, Cloyne.                 2009-2011.

It is a great honour to lead the GAA in Cork though the job has many responsibilities too but we in Bride Rovers are justifiably proud that 'one of our own' has taken on the mantle handed down by so many great Gaels.

At Convention last Sunday our Club was well represented on a momentous day in the annals of Bride Rovers. Present were Board Delegates Daniel Lane and John Arnold, Club President Pat O Connor, Chairman Billy Finnegan, Vice- Chairman Richie O Regan, Runai Wm. O Leary, Treasurer Dan Quill and Mossy O Sullivan Chairman of the Ladies Football and Camogie Club. Gerard is the 30th Chairman of the Board and just the sixth from East Cork, pictured with club officers and members at Pairc Ui Chaoimh.


Club Shop